Belching Words

The Book of Tomorrow – A Review

Posted in books., interests. by Lex on June 16, 2010

Rating: 5 out of 5!

Tamara Goodwin was stripped off of everything she had once with the death of her father. She and her mother sold everything they ever had. Not only were they poor and living in Arthur and Rosaleen’s – her uncle and aunt – house, they had been stripped off of the power and will to move on and live. With the help of a very magical and mysterious diary that tells the future, Tamara uncovers the truth behind the lies she was taught to believe with and exposes secrets kept for years.

The Book of Tomorrow is another novel by Cecelia Ahern. It’s another fictional story dipped in magic.

Tamara is exactly like the girls usually seen in TV – spoiled and wild. She’s a girl I try not to be. It’s a common plot in a book: a young rich girl turned poor and homeless. What was good about it is how she changed and evolved intro somebody else, far different yet better. She started to think and reflect, she was helping her family move on and she realized how much she loved and appreciated her father despite his wrong decision and pride. It’s like in those sayings that tell how you appreciate something when it’s no where near your grasp anymore.

At first, you would guess that the book will teach her never to meddle with the future. But Ahern was realistic. You can never meddle with the future. Instead, the book taught Tamara to think of the consequences of our actions. As the end nears, I learned a lot along with her. I understood and will try to keep in my heart and never forget.

The book was trying to lead Tamara into something else too. At the first few chapters, I thought the book will drag and just when my eyelid were starting to droop, the book jerked my eyes open, alert and curious. I will not spoil the fun for you but let me hint, old secrets will be uncovered. And it will all start with someone – someone and her jealousy, lies, and too much loving. Just like a quote someone sent me, anything that’s too much, spills and is wasted. Imagine pouring water over a glass filled to the brim.

Cecelia Ahern never failed me so far. I think these ideas were not new but she introduced all of them to me – falling in love with an invisible person, acquiring the skill and knowledge of your anonymous blood benefactor, finding a place where all things lost end up, pills that can make you work at two places at a time, and now this, a diary that tells the future.

She’s a brilliant author with brilliant books and I am so happy she’s still young and no where near retiring.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Meg said, on June 22, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    I hadn’t heard of this one before your review, but it definitely sounds like something I would enjoy! I know Ahern has a strong following and I enjoyed her book Where Rainbows End. I’ll look for this one!

  2. nat @book, line, and sinker said, on June 17, 2010 at 1:17 am

    i love books with dynamic characters who actually make positive changes and grow as a result of their experiences. i’m always on the lookout for books for my students to read–this one sounds pretty good! i’ll check it out and see if i can use it in the fall. :) what else has cecelia ahern written that you recommend?


Leave a Reply

