Belching Words

The Undomestic Goddess – A Review

Posted in books., interests. by Lex on May 15, 2010

Samantha Sweeting is one of the best lawyers in Carter Spink and possibly could become of the partners on this prestigious law firm. But when she makes a very huge, elementary mistake, she runs away and ends up in the English countryside, dehydrated and suffering with a headache.

You think her life would end up miserably with some gruesome kidnapping but instead, she is welcomed into the Geiger’s abode thinking she’s applying as a housekeeper. Not knowing on how to cook, clean, iron or use the washing machine, Nathaniel the gardener offers her help through lessons from his own mother. She not only learns how to cook with her senses and manage the household chores but she is allowed a freedom she never had back in the city.

This book has confirmed my love for Sophie Kinsella. She pulled me into a world I wish I had.

Back here in the Philippines, you couldn’t see much parks or gardens that would bring you a feel of the countryside. I myself is a city girl and would always be but somewhere inside me, I would really love to spend my days in a simple house with open windows, letting the fresh air and flowery scent in.

As Sam sees beyond Cotswolds, I feel like I too was seeing what she was supposed to be seeing. More than that, Kinsella made me realize that I really want to bake and cook. I wanted to be taught by Iris. I want to go to Italy and enroll myself in a culinary class. I want to be in the vicinity of the kitchen with pans and pots, flour and baking tins, ovens and granite tops.

I don’t know what is in this book but when Samantha found out about the 5o million mistake, the setup, when she was now part, not just in, of Nathaniels world, and when everything is revealed toppling the perfectly arranged life of Sam, I felt like I too was falling down along with her. In short, this book pulls you. Or rather, it pulled me.

The Undomestic Goddess did not fail me. I could ignore the slight stubbornness of Samantha and how fickle minded she is.  There is so much beauty and simple joys described you too would feel elated.

Samantha, then lawyer, now housekeeper, is completely changed and is ready to give up what is in the past. The impact cooking, the countryside and it’s simple no-hurry lifestyle and most of all Nathaniel made on Sam’s life is so huge and profound it affected me.

I just don’t want to learn how to bake and cook. I want to excel in the kitchen.

I cannot miss pointing out that Kinsella placed fears on me too. I plan to take law and become a good lawyer but reading on how this deprives you of relaxing and contemplating your life and not the paper in front of you.. I got scared. Every six minutes in Carter Spink is recorded and costs 5o euros. You leave the office on 11 pm. You miss your birthdays. You get twitchy and tense. You check your BlackBerry every 30 seconds.

But I won’t hold back on law. Who knows Kinsella is lying?

Just the same, you shouldn’t hold back on this book as I assure you I am not lying. Cross my heart and hope to die. ♥

Rating: 4 out of 5!

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] (Photo credits) […]

  2. Meg said, on June 3, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    So glad you enjoyed this one! I’ve had it in my bookcase forever. I’ve read a few of Kinsella’s novels, all in the Shopaholic series, and can’t wait to read Twenties Girl, too.

    In women’s fiction like Kinsella’s, so many of the characters are lawyers — and I can definitely see why, as a future lawyer, the set-ups of the book would be scary! But I’m sure you’ll do very well. :)

  3. ning fathia said, on May 31, 2010 at 7:30 am

    Thank you for the review! I saw it today on the news stand but was reluctant to buy it, now I think I’m going to buy it.

    • Lex said, on May 31, 2010 at 1:50 pm

      Please do! I’m happy I helped!

  4. Emily and Her Little Pink Notes said, on May 20, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Sophie Kinsella it’s the best. I am looking forward to her new book “Mini Shopaholic”

    • Lex said, on May 20, 2010 at 12:57 pm

      Oh is there? I have never heard of it yet but from you! Thank you on sharing! Could this be about the shopaholic’s child?

  5. bermudaonion said, on May 19, 2010 at 11:37 am

    I’ve thoroughly enjoyed every Kinsella book I’ve read, including this one. Great review!

  6. nat @book, line, and sinker said, on May 16, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    i haven’t read a kinsella in a while but might start up again with this one! i love books that inspire…and a cooking class (or YEAR) in italy sounds perfect right about now.

    • Lex said, on May 17, 2010 at 5:26 am

      This book does inspire but Samantha did not go to Italy! It was a passing statement. Italy or not, this book is worth every attention you have!

  7. shoreacres said, on May 16, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    I just loved this review so much, because in so many ways I am Samantha. I went from corporate life to varnishing boats, and now here I am with my windows wide open, breathing in the last of our spring air before the heat of summer and thinking: this is pretty good!

    I remember what it was like when I was younger. It was like I “tried on” lives like so many dresses. Eventually I found one that fit perfectly and that I really liked. You’ll find one, too.

    • Lex said, on May 17, 2010 at 5:25 am

      Now I understand why you have so many posts about boats and the sea.

      I liked how put trying so many lives as trying several dresses. Thank you so much!

  8. the notebook doodles said, on May 16, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    it’s interesting how you asked about nail art.. i was just thinking of trying it the other day. i used to do them but i’ve forgotten how to and i’m still unsure if i want patterns or what-not on my nails :p

    thanks for the constructive feedback!!

  9. fredaliciouseats said, on May 15, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    I loved Twenties Girl, so am adding this to my list.

    Great review!

    • Lex said, on May 16, 2010 at 6:46 am

      I plan to read Twenties Girl too. I assure you won’t regret reading the Undomestic Goddess. It’s just so funny.

  10. […] want to learn how to bake and cook . I want to excel in the kitchen. … Read the original:  The Undomestic Goddess – A Review « Belching Words Share and […]


Leave a Reply

