Belching Words

Proverbs

Posted in other by Lex on May 14, 2010

Wisdom cries aloud in the street, in the markets she raises her voice;

at the head of the noisy streets she cries out;

at the entrance of the city gates she speaks:

“How long, O simple ones, will you love being simple?

How long will scoffers delight in their scoffing

and fools hate knowledge?

If you turn at my reproof,

behold, I will pour out my spirits to you;

I will make my words known to you.

Because I have called and you refused to listen,

have stretched out my hand and no has heeded,

because you have ignored all my counsel

and would have none of my reproof,

I will also laugh at your calamity;

I will mock when terror strikes you,

when terror strikes you like a storm

and your calamity comes like a whirlwind,

when distress and anguish come upon you.

Then they will come upon me and I will not answer;

but they will seek diligently but will not find me.

Because they hate knowledge and did not choose the fear of the Lord,

would have none of my counsel and despise all my reproof,

therefore they shall eat the fruit of their way,

and have their fill of their own devices,

and the complacency of fools destroys them;

but whoever listens to me will dwell secure

and will be at ease, without dread of disasters.”

Proverbs 1:20-33

Therefore, those who turned their backs at the Lord will not be heard once they ask for help when they are in need. But then, there are always chances left for everyone.

Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bellezza said, on May 18, 2010 at 2:03 am

    I love Proverbs! I’m reading through the Bible in the King James translation this year, for the first time ever. I think all the journeys through with easier to understand translations have helped to pave the way, but there’s nothing like the wisdom found in this book no matter what the translation may be.

    • Lex said, on May 19, 2010 at 7:17 am

      I love it too! To me it has more flesh than the other previous books in the Bible that I have read. But then again, I haven’t read the entire Bible yet.

      No matter what translation, the Bible is the Bible. It’s like no matter what color you are, you’re still the son of God.


Leave a Reply

