Belching Words

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief – A Review

Posted in books., interests. by Lex on May 9, 2010

I am utterly disappointed. In the book cover, Logan Lerman is facing somewhere else and not facing me where I could lust over his face and tuck this book under my pillow. Aside from that, the book is as mighty as Zeus’ lightning bolt.

Percy Jackson was so much more than a dyslexia and ADHD patient, transferred six schools in six years. He’s a half blood – half god, half human, son of Poseidon, god of the Sea. Now this information comes as a shock and isn’t as luxurious as it sounds. Zeus threatens war. His lightning bolt was stolen and Percy, son of Poseidon who Zeus recently had an argument with, is the prime suspect. Given the deadline until the summer solstice, Percy must retrieve the lightning bolt from the real thief along with Grover, his protector and half goat and Annabeth, daughter of Athena.

Book one is jam packed with adventures, riddles and puzzles to solve, and gods, goddesses and monsters to defeat – Minotaurs, the Furies, Medusa, Ares – to name a few. It’s like opening door after door until you open the last one and find yourself talking to Hades, god of the Underworld. A step by step quest not at all easy if this was not fiction. It’s super coated of all things amusing – from the title chapters, the gods and goddesses and their habits, the world of Olympus, the demigods, Percy Jackson and Rick Riordan’s humor.

In Half Blood Hill, where half bloods train and strengthen their skills, they are grouped in cabins depending on who your father or mother is. As in the case of Percy, he stays alone in cabin three as the only son of Poseidon. This reminds me of the houses in Hogwarts which I sorely miss.

Percy’s mother married a man who stinks and plays poker all day, drinking beer and decorating the house with litter. She put up with this man in order to cover up the strong scent that Percy has as his father is one of the Big Three. This reminds me also of the beautiful Lily Potter who sacrificed herself for her son.

Not that I have a suspicious point to raise. Moving on.

An idea from the book caught me and my attention.  As they stayed for the night in the forest littered with beer cans and all things plastic, Grover can’t help but complain how we human littered the world, how there are less stars visible at the night. The article I read on Yahoo! News comes into mind. How the sky was amazingly clear and pristine blue when all flights were canceled due to the volcano eruption. I remember also the times whenever my Dad and I would travel to the country side of the Philippines and I could clearly see the bare part of the mountain hill, just brown when it’s supposed to be green. I can’t help but think that I’m one of these sort of people.

As Percy, Annabeth and Grover travel through the Underworld, Charon explain how human littered the River Styx with broken dreams and shattered hopes. After all, all things dead and broken end up in the Underworld.

My curious mind can’t help but wonder, could hell be littered with such sad things too?

In the movie, the director made changes to the plot and though some are in the negative opinion on these changes, I am not part of this percent. One of these changes is the obvious pair up of Annabeth and Percy when in the book I could see no love signs. I tried to look for it but I found something else.

Poseidon’s love for Percy’s mother was true and pure as the pearls under the ocean.

“Poseidon call you a queen,” I (Percy) told her (Percy’s mother). “He said he hadn’t met a woman like you in a thousand years.

. . . .

She wiped a tear off her cheek. “You sound so much like your father,” she said. “He offered to stop the tide for me once. He offered to build me a palace at the bottom of the sea. He thought he could solve all my problems with a wave of his hand.”

Calling a woman a queen is old school but this line made it feel so special. I think I could call my Mom a Queen.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief is another book I wish to display beside our Harry Potter series. It deserves a place such as that. I’ll cover it with a plastic cover so after I reread it for the 50th time, it would still look okay. This is not just about adventures. There’s such things as family and making decisions, weighing options that almost weighs the same. Love, friendship, family. Bravery and wisdom.

It’s a good thing that Percy has a very interesting life to entertain me for a period of four books.

P.S Forgive me if this is long. It might be because right after I put the book down, I opened my laptop and clicked New Post. Understandable.

Rating: 4 out of 5!

Leave a Reply

