Belching Words

Bookish Dilemma

Posted in other by Lex on May 6, 2010

I save up for my books with the weekly allowances that Mom sends us. I bought three new books last week.

Now I’m broke.

I feel like books is keeping me from eating out with friends and my siblings, buying essentials, saving up for my bank account, and keeping extra money for emergency purposes in my wallet. I created this blog because I love blogging. I love expressing my thoughts and arranging words. With my love for reading, I incorporated reviewing books. Reading and books is the life and heart of Belching Words. It’s the oil in the engine.

But with this problem, I must cut off my budget for books. You might not understand it but it’s a pain to do so. The thought of buying books, the silence of the bookstore, the thrill of choosing the right title – all of this I will miss.

I guess, this is what you call discipline. It’s choosing one thing over another. It’s controlling and prioritizing. Money management.

Mom would be happy that’s I’m teaching myself something even without her presence.

Tagged with:

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. teri said, on May 26, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    lex, your reviews have been amazing! i’m enjoying reading them, and wishing i had the time to read. i hope my girls have this love of reading and the gift of expressing themselves!
    lex, please tell me what books are on your TO BUY list. I bet i can purchase them 2nd hand here in the US and mail them to you the the Philippines! please email me when you can for your wish list. i will take care of the expense – it would be my pleasure to do so!

  2. efferninsbipt said, on May 18, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, Satellite Direct Tv

  3. Leona said, on May 8, 2010 at 2:40 am

    I know how you feel about that.

    I bought four books just a while back, and now I’m broke, too.

    But it’s great that you’re learning how to budget your money :) Congratulations, and good luck.

    • Lex said, on May 8, 2010 at 6:51 am

      Thank you very much! Good luck on yours too!

  4. shoreacres said, on May 7, 2010 at 1:56 am

    Do you know about BookMooch? It’s a way of exchanging books with other readers and the only expense is mailing books – depending where you are, that might or might not be a problem.

    In any event, I’ve not used it but I know people who have and they’ve been very well satisfied. It might be one way to extend that book dollar a bit!

    You can find their home page here: http://bookmooch.com/

    • Lex said, on May 7, 2010 at 6:19 am

      You’ve been visiting frequently, thank you very much.

      Yes, I do know about BookMooch. Thank you on the tip. I’ll try to teach myself on its ways.


Leave a Reply

