Belching Words

Rushing, Rushing, Rushing

Posted in other by Lex on April 1, 2010

We always rush. I may be sitting down comfortably in front of my laptop but my brain is still rushing. Think, think, think. My Google Reader is full of entries of subscribed blogs left unread from the days of rushing. It’s been a month since I’ve posted a blog entry or reviewed a book I just finished. The month of April here in the Philippines means school vacation and yet, every day, I still attend classes. Every night, I try to finish something – could be a project, a module or an assignment. I wasn’t given a deadline but I’m still rushing. I am a very organized person yet I can’t manage time – my constant enemy, my constant wish. Every morning, I end up waking up late. I rush to the bathroom, I skip breakfast, and request my Dad to drive a little bit faster. Tardiness and attendance wasn’t important at my school but I still rush to get early.

The first four months of 2010 was cruel and yet exciting. The anticipation of another month of a year where we thought of flying cars and underwater cities. The dread of Recognition Day. The dread of another hectic year – and this time, my last high school year. An anticipation and fear for Law school. Excitement over summer outings. Excitement over my birthday. Excitement over my presents.

March 19 has passed and passed well. Balloons all over the house, confetti all over the floor, fifteen birthday candles, my mini dress, friends and their noises, the preparations, picture takings, drinks spilled – even on my birthday I was rushing. But that’s the good thing about birthdays. You rush and try to make everything perfect but the memories don’t come in a blur. Not like Math, you try to submit it first, study it first and in the next few months, you forget what y-intercept means.

May might be a time where I could finally breath and relax but still I rush to finish more modules than my classmates before the official start of classes in June. And then, everything starts over again. Rushing, rushing, rushing.

When do we ever stop rushing? As in stop, stop? Do you know?

Tagged with:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. teri said, on April 5, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    i love this blog entry, lex.
    i know exactly what you mean. i think i’m MORE THAN double your age, young girl…and I still find myself rushing. BUt it wasn’t until i was 37 that i started to learn about meditation, about being present in the moment, and about taking it all in. Lex, once in a while, while you are in the rush, sit down and take a few meaningful and deep breaths and observe that air going in and out of you lungs. then remember how good it is to be alive. keep up the great work with your school and your blog! you are an amazing young lady!!!

    • Lex said, on April 6, 2010 at 12:00 pm

      Thank you so much Teri! :) I do take deep breaths and stop for a few minutes and think. I don’t feel like I’m missing the joys of life too but sometimes, things pile up and you get so tired. I feel better now! I thin I’m almost there! Thank you once again!

  2. notebookdoodles said, on April 4, 2010 at 11:17 am

    i agree. we do rush a lot. sometimes it’s good to remember to breathe though.

    ps. the double rings are pretty comfortable :)

  3. Alayne said, on April 2, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    I’ve no idea, but it’s good to see you post something! I hope you get to relax and stop soon. :)


Leave a Reply

