Belching Words

Sensual

Posted in Booking Through Thursdays, Memes by Lex on March 18, 2010

Which do you prefer? Lurid, fruity prose, awash in imagery and sensuous textures and colors? Or straight-forward, clean, simple prose?

This is a really late BTT but I love the question and I completely could relate to it.

I define a prefect book in many ways. One of these is a book must be in lurid, fruity prose, awash in imagery and sensuous textures and colors. I adore books that fits in this description. Books that could trigger feelings through words and images that come into my head as I read these luscious words. I do not exactly mean a book that describes a tree like a forest. I mean books that speak simply and with a touch of riddle and metaphors but could lift a face, ring a laugh, or cause a tear.

In my opinion, how words are used and arranged adds points to the rating and more impact. When the question was asked, Meg Cabot came instantly into my mind. The first book I bought from her was quite a mistake. Size 12 is Not Fat wasn’t a book for me. But as the world revolves and moves every second, changes occur. I grew to love the second installment and bought the last book, Size Doesn’t Matter. American language, casual American language wasn’t that bad for a book after all. It was Heather Wells narrating and not Meg Cabot so I don’t blame her.

And yes, dear Debs, I was thinking of something else when I first read the title.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. shoreacres said, on March 21, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    I’ve been thinking and thinking about this, and finally came back to one of my first conclusions about words.

    I think they can be bricks, to hide behind, or windows, to look through into another reality.
    Some windows, like those in a farmhouse, are as plain as can be, but they sparkle in the sunlight.
    Other windows are ornate and luscious, like those in a cathedral.

    Sometimes the plain window is best. You look through it, and see the sky and the trees. Sometimes the fancy window does better, and you spend some time looking at the window itself.

    But either one is better than bricks!

    • Lex said, on March 26, 2010 at 10:12 am

      Beautiful analogy of deep and hollow writing. I kind of get your point. There’s more in a window – it’s what you see beyond the window.

  2. Bellezza said, on March 19, 2010 at 1:14 am

    I think this question is too complex to answer in one specific way. Sometimes I love the prose, sometimes I want to cut to the chase. But, I’ll never forget how bored I was reading My Antonia by Willa Cather. That prose was like watching paint dry, in my opinion. Argh!

    • Lex said, on March 21, 2010 at 9:29 am

      Then I better stay away from that book!


Leave a Reply

