Belching Words

The Secret Garden – A Review

Posted in books., interests. by Lex on March 1, 2010

6a01156fd3e481970b0120a62b5fbf970c-800wi

The Secret Garden” by Frances Hodgsons Burnett

Ratings: 4.5 out of 5!

Just like the dead garden, Mary Lennox was partly dead. Sour, irritable, mean, and spoiled, Mary was never liked by anybody – her mother, her governess, and her Ayah. She too never liked anything nor anybody. She was not a child who exudes that innocence and joy of the young. I could say she was blank, just like a dead garden.

When Cholera broke out of the Lennox household, leaving her orphaned, she was left under the care of her only relative, her uncle, Archibald Craven living in Misselthwaite Manor. With the vast size of the house, hundreds of locked doors, a strange cry from one of these doors, a garden locked up for 10 years, and a very curious, brave child, what else would you expect?

With her curiosity burning, Mary sets out to find the buried key and door and resolved to bring back color not only to the garden where love grew and ended but to her cheeks and to a boy named Colin.

The Secret Garden is a classic children’s literature. Having read the classic Peter Pan and Alice in Wonderland, I could say this one had more sense and deeper meaning. Burnett captivated me as she had with many other children on their beds. I expected fairies and magic and magic dusts but no, I had something more.

Mr. Craven was a hunchback and he had son named Colin. With whispers of death and negative thoughts, Colin was discouraged and grew believing that sooner or later, a hump will grow and his father will never be able to look him in the eye. With the help of Mary, he gathered his courage and managed to complete the final result of his “scientific experiment’ involving Magic – the power to believe that you will and that you can. A message that is very practical, simple yet amazing.

Some people need not only take a medicine, pray in God but also believe that he or she will heal soon. It takes this Magic for people to accomplish plans and to climb up to places that seem too impossible. God exists because I believe in Him and so does every Christian. My parents believed that my brother will live normally and so he did.

But this Magic is not wishing and believing but it is wishing and believing with action. This is something you and I have to learn. Fill your minds with negative thoughts and you’d end up failing just like Colin. But when Mary and Colin believed that they could and that they would, they succeeded.

In life, we need a little bit of Magic, a little bit of push.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aimee said, on March 17, 2010 at 11:43 am

    this is my favorourite my sweet. You should read little lord fauntleroy next…love that one too.

    • Lex said, on March 21, 2010 at 9:28 am

      I’ll try to see if I could find it in the bookstore. Thank you on the recommendation Aimee.

  2. shoreacres said, on March 13, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Do you know I’ve never read this book? But now I want to , because of your review.

    I was so taken with this line: Magic is not wishing and believing but it is wishing and believing with action. It could be paraphrased for faith, too ~ Faith is not hoping and praying alone but it is hoping and praying with action.

    Now I’m in the mood to work on my patio and make it more of a “secret garden” for me!

    • Lex said, on March 14, 2010 at 11:34 am

      I too is taken with your flattering comment. Thank you very much. Good luck with your patio (how lucky for I have none)!

  3. Alayne said, on March 10, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Wonderful review. I picked up a lovely copy of The Secret Garden a few months ago and have been wanting to read it for some time. I’ve always loved the story of Mary Lennox and the Cravens. Have you ever heard/seen the Broadway musical version? It’s absolutely magical. Funny thing though, I always assumed Frances was a male. I had no idea she was a woman. :) Thanks for teaching me something!

    • Lex said, on March 11, 2010 at 6:17 am

      I would love to see the musical but I don’t how I could possibly do that. I always thought the name “Frances” is feminine. Thanks for dropping by!

  4. Ann Marie said, on March 10, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    oh how i love this book! and i can always use a bit of magic in my life…and i’m lucky enough to have it often.

    • Lex said, on March 11, 2010 at 6:16 am

      Life and our family is magic in itself. The existence of God too despite his invisibility.

  5. bermudaonion said, on March 9, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    I read this as a child, so I didn’t get all the subtle meanings out of it. It sounds like it’s worth a re-read.

  6. notebookdoodles said, on March 9, 2010 at 9:36 am

    blackberry will change your life!! trust me :D i was hooked on mine when i first got it. rather sad, but it’s the truth!!

    • Lex said, on March 10, 2010 at 1:26 pm

      You’re keeping me excited. Mom is getting me a BB Bold for my birthday. I especially asked for it. I feel so lucky.

  7. giddy said, on March 5, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    i will have to put this book on my daughter’s future book list. thanks for the lovely review!

    • Lex said, on March 7, 2010 at 10:40 am

      I thank you as well for the visit! Your daughter will love this.

  8. Bellezza said, on March 3, 2010 at 12:30 am

    I loved this book when I read it in sixth or seventh grade. The movie of it was actually a fair representation as well, come to think of it. But, I remember reading the garden part, and so wishing I had one of my own: a secret retreat. Don’t you love Mary and Colin’s friendship? As well as that she grew out of being a whiny brat?

    • Lex said, on March 7, 2010 at 10:39 am

      I do love their friendship, somehow wishing they’d end up together – a love triangle. How tasty. I keep on reading Japanese comics and I read about the characters going somewhere in school where they contemplate their problems. I somehow wanted a place I could call my own in school too!


Leave a Reply

