Belching Words

Winter Reading

Posted in Booking Through Thursdays, Memes by Lex on February 4, 2010

The northern hemisphere, at least, is socked in by winter right now… So, on a cold, wintry day, when you want nothing more than to curl up with a good book on the couch … what kind of reading do you want to do?

Just so you know, I live in a very sunny country, the Philippines! Right now, I could feel the summer heat. Yesterday, I crossed the street under the scorching heat and believe it or not, the heat was biting me! Like some dragon belching fire. If you’d rather get out and enjoy the sun on a park or in front of the sea on summer days, I hide inside my parent’s air conditioned room like it’s the winter season. Since I have brown-ish skin, I stay away from the heat of the sun most of the times. I wouldn’t like to be darker than my tanned skin. On rainy days, I curl up on my bed in my room, opening the windows, enjoying the chilly air and the sounds of the spluttering of rain drops.

My point is, I curl up every time! Right now, I’ve been busy with school and other alibis that you could think of so I have no current reads. When this happens, I pick up any of the books that I bought that was worth reading again. For this BTT, one thing comes into mind, the Harry Potter series.

I bet everyone on Earth has read, seen or heard of the famous Harry Potter and fans like me would have posters, the complete series, and dreams of visiting London and the new Harry Potter theme park. As I was rereading the 6th installment of the series, I have the same feeling of amazement, excitement and thrill with every word on the page. On seasons of curling up, I prefer to read a book that could bring me to a different world, to a different dimension far far away. A book that would prevent you from hearing your mother calling for dinner downstairs. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince just did that.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. freda mans said, on February 4, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    I’m jealous. I’d love to be in the Phillipines.

    http://fredasvoice.blogspot.com/2010/02/booking-through-thursday-winter-reading.html

    • Lex said, on February 5, 2010 at 5:01 pm

      Try visiting! You’ll love the beaches here!

  2. Lori said, on February 4, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Harry Potter is a good choice. Fun, exciting but easy to read. Here’s Mine

  3. DanaB said, on February 4, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Wow, you have a fantastic way with words!
    And amen to Harry Potter–definitely a classic series to be treasured over and over again.
    ~

    http://www.mywindowswideopen.wordpress.com

  4. Alayne said, on February 4, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    HP is number 1 on my list too, there’s something about it that just takes you away. Great answer. Mien is at The Crowded Leaf.

  5. Jennifer said, on February 4, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    I too like Harry Potter, although not what I choose to curl up with. My BTT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/02/booking-through-thursday-genre.html

  6. Michelle said, on February 4, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Oooo, the Harry Potter series does demand curling up! Great choice!

  7. justbookreading said, on February 4, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    I have a soft spot for Harry Potter too. :-) The Half Blood Prince is my favorite in the series.


Leave a Reply

