Belching Words

Dinagyang Festival 2010

Posted in art/fashion/photography, interests. by Lex on January 31, 2010

These photos were featured on the Flickr Blog. I knew from the first picture that this is one of the Philippines festivals known for it’s color and bright props. These is what you call the The Dinagyang Festival celebrated in Iloilo City, Philippines to honor St. Niño and the arrival of the Malays on Panay Island.

Here in my beloved Cebu, we celebrate Sinulog Festival in honor of St. Niño and the arrival of the statue brought by the Spaniards. This is celebrated by the Catholics who believe in idols. Though I disagree with idols, I enjoy watching the various groups of dancers from different schools perform and show their talent and efforts in making the props and costumes over the television. With the sea of people on the day of the celebration, I never ever step foot outside our house and postpone all scheduled appointments. I never liked crowds. I’ll be sharing photos tomorrow.

Photo Credits: Flickr 
2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. notebookdoodles said, on February 2, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    haha :D thanks for all the comments. made me smile getting it through my blackberry.

  2. Kathy R (Bermudaonion) said, on February 1, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    Oh my gosh! Those pictures are fabulous – I’m sure those festivals are wonderful to go too.


Leave a Reply

