Belching Words

Reading In Front of Others

Posted in Memes, Musing Mondays by Lex on January 17, 2010

When is it right to read in front of others? Is it ever appropriate?

I don’t think it’s really inappropriate. For me it’s not insulting or something improper.

But only if you’re already talking with someone else. You are with someone, either on a coffee shop, and then you start to pick up your book and read – that is really inappropriate. That would give an idea that you don’t want to talk to that person, and it’s rather insulting.

Honestly, I love this question because it’s something that I can relate to, it’s something that I experienced.

On my first few weeks on my new school, which means I’m really friendless, I bring along my novels and read while waiting for Dad to pick me up or just about anything just so I wouldn’t look like a loser+loner. But as I gradually made a friend or two, I stopped bringing any books. It rather prevents people from approaching and talking to you for two reasons – first, they’d feel awkward to approach you on the fear that they might disturb you and just as I already mentioned, it gives the idea that you don’t want to talk when you’re supposed to be making friends.

So the bottom line is – there’s a time for reading in public.

Tagged with:

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Meg said, on January 19, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    I’m totally with you — I always bring along a book if I’m not sure I’ll have someone to talk to and don’t want to look lonely or strange! :) I often go out to eat for lunch, for example, and I’m on my own — so I never leave the house without a book.

    But when you’re out with someone else, unless they’re reading too, it’s rude to read in front of them. It definitely makes it seem as though you don’t care to try and have a conversation with them — or just can’t be bothered! That’s definitely a great question. :)

    • Lex said, on January 20, 2010 at 6:45 am

      Yeah! I don’t care if others might think I’m nerdy because I’m reading a book. I mean, so what? What’s wrong with nerdy?

      I’d rather be a nerd than a loser+loner.

  2. Lisa said, on January 19, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    oh I could relate to that one. <a href="http://when-she-reads.blogspot.com/2010/01/musing-mondays.html&quot;?Here's mine

  3. rebeccavoy said, on January 19, 2010 at 9:42 am

    Thanks for your thoughts :)

  4. Melody said, on January 18, 2010 at 2:13 am

    I agree it all has to depend on the occasion.

  5. Bluestocking from The Bluestocking Guide said, on January 18, 2010 at 12:01 am

    I don’t read at the dinner table. My mom would kill me. Here is mine

  6. Mae said, on January 17, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    I still use the book to stop people from approaching me when I don’t want to be …err…approached. :-)

    • Lex said, on January 18, 2010 at 4:10 am

      Oh yes! I do the same! When you feel like this certain person is most likely going to approach me, I pick up the book.

  7. bermudaonion said, on January 17, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    You’re right – it depends on the occasion. I normally won’t read when I’m sitting in a coffee shop with someone, but I did just last week because I only had pages to go in my book and I was dying to know how it would end.

    • Lex said, on January 18, 2010 at 4:09 am

      Hehe! It’s good your companion didn’t mind!


Leave a Reply

