Belching Words

Flapper or Not a Flapper?

Posted in 54, Booking Through Thursdays, Memes by Lex on January 14, 2010

Do you read the inside flaps that describe a book before or while reading it?

Yes, I do. I’m more of a cover-to-cover reader.

I feel uncomfortable when I miss a page. I paid for this! And besides, I just want to read them. Acknowledgments, feedbacks.. everything. Even interviews after the book or answers from the author. Those little extras that are found on the book. It’s what I need for me to choose the right book.

This question doesn’t really need a long answer so..

Are you flapper? Or you’d rather not read those extras?

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Meg said, on January 19, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    I’m definitely a flapper! Like you, I read everything — the introduction, the acknowledgments and the reader’s guide, if there is one. I figure if it made it into the book, it’s important! :)

  2. bermudaonion said, on January 15, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    I generally don’t read the flaps since I know what I want to buy before I go in the store.

  3. Melody said, on January 14, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    I’m a flapper too!

  4. Jeane said, on January 14, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    I hardly ever read the question/answer sections in the back. But I usually read the flaps, and sometimes the introduction after I’m done with the book. Introductions usually give too much away!

    • Lex said, on January 15, 2010 at 3:27 am

      There’s this difference with me to you and the other non-flappers – I don’t care much if I happen to read spoilers.

      Thanks for visiting!

  5. Alayne said, on January 14, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Good answer, I too feel bad if I don’t read all the extra stuff at the end.
    Alayne – The Crowded Leaf.

  6. Novroz said, on January 14, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    I read flap but I only read extra after finishing the book. and like Nise, I also watch it on DVD :)

    As for buying…no matter how good the flap sounds I rather not buy it…I ONLY buy books for the author I’ve already known

    • Lex said, on January 14, 2010 at 4:11 pm

      Hmm.. I want to explore more authors but I don’t just rely on the flaps. I need positive reviews.. more persuasions, I should say.

  7. Jennifer said, on January 14, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    I am so sorry, I left the incorrect link. I should never post before copious cups of coffee.

    My Answer: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/01/booking-through-thursday-14-january.html

  8. Jennifer said, on January 14, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    I read the extras after I finished the book. My answer: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/01/giveaway-8th-confession-by-james.html

  9. Nise' said, on January 14, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    I read all the extras too! Watch them on DVDs as well!

    • Lex said, on January 15, 2010 at 3:29 am

      Of course! I wouldn’t hesitate to watch that film interpretation as long as I’ve read the book first.

  10. Aimee said, on January 14, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    hahaha – you pay per page, eh?

    I can’t say I’m a true flapper – it depends on whether the book grabs me or not. I read ‘About the Author’ and ‘Acknowledgments’ only IF i like the book.
    Otherwise, if I didn’t like the book, I’m bound to roll my eyes and mutter under my breath at anything they have t say in their ‘about me’s’ or ‘people i’d like to thank for helping me publish this piece of crap’.
    :)

    So not a true flapper, but not a flipper either!

    -Aimee
    http://myflutteringheart.blogspot.com

  11. justbookreading said, on January 14, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    I’ll usually read about the author but I almost always skip the acknowledgments.

  12. Meghan said, on January 14, 2010 at 10:58 am

    I do read all the extras, but only after I’ve finished the book. I just like to start it knowing pretty much nothing!

    • Lex said, on January 15, 2010 at 3:29 am

      I could do that, only if I just borrowed it or I did not buy the book.


Leave a Reply

