Belching Words

New Year Blogging/Reading Resolutions

Posted in Memes, Musing Mondays by Lex on January 4, 2010

With the New Year here already, do you have any reading resolutions or goals (challenges aside) for 2010? Perhaps a new author? Genre? Want to read more non-fiction? Write more reviews?
I have explored the Blogosphere enough to be confident with my blog and review. At first, I thought, you have to be good in reviewing, you need to be famous, you need to finish as much challenges as possible, you need to have cute layouts, you need to be a member of a certain group.. but then, reading is a passion. It’s not a contest, it’s not a game. It’s something that I do because I love it, I enjoy reading. Reviewing is not my job. I review because I want to, because I want to express my views on this book. Why should I make my review as good as somebody else’s review? I love blogging because of two reasons – simply because I love to hear the sound of the keyboard as you type and because it’s a place where I could practice my right, my freedom of expression without being censured by people who was never taught how to be considerate.
Thus, I plan to read more and review more with confidence. As much as I’d like to list down the books that caught my attention, I rely on the stocks on my fave bookstore. Sometimes they have it, sometimes they don’t. I am jealous of those who have the freedom to order on Amazon. I mean, hello, I live in the PH which is a long long miles away and Amazon does not even support deliveries here on PH! Plus, I have no PayPal. I don’t even know how that works!
Lately, I’ve been missing BTTs and Sunday Salons.. but I’ll be getting back on my track just like the rest of you from now on. I have to review The Tales of Beedle the Bard, I am currently reading If You Could See Me Now, and I have to read The Choice soon. I’m happy cause I’m actually doing something!
So how about you? I bet you have the same resolution as I do!
Tagged with:

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nise' said, on January 4, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    Sorry that Amazon won’t deliver where you live.

    Have a great year of reading.

    • Lex said, on January 5, 2010 at 7:16 am

      Thank you! I just wish they’d include Philippines on their list! There are countless students here who are willing to order online.

  2. caite said, on January 4, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    I totally agree. It is all about doing this because we love books and we love reading and sharing our ideas. The only person we have to satisfy is ourselves!

    • Lex said, on January 5, 2010 at 7:10 am

      Thanks for sharing the same opinion as I do!

  3. Lisa (Books and Cooks) said, on January 4, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    I feel much the same way you do. I don’t read all the newest books that come out or the mainstream authors. I read books I think I’ll love. I probably read less books last year than the year before (I haven’t counted them yet), but that’s ok for me because I read for quality not quantity. Enjoy your year of reading!

    • Lex said, on January 5, 2010 at 7:11 am

      Yes! Quality and not quantity. We need books that are worth reading the second, third around.

  4. bermudaonion said, on January 4, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    I gave up on resolutions years ago, so I’ll just wing things as I go. Will Book Depository deliver there? I hope you have a wonderful new year!


Leave a Reply

