Belching Words

Message In A Bottle – A Review

Posted in books., interests. by Lex on December 28, 2009

Message In A Bottle by Nicholas Sparks

I was already warned by a friend that this book would certainly make you cry. And so I did.

The story begun with Theresa Osborne looking back at her past with Garrett. As I was reading, I forgot that these events were memories that Theresa was remembering as she sat at the beach with her bag full of things. Just like any Nicholas Sparks’ novel, this book tells us another story about fate and destiny and how two people met in the most bizarre, unrealistic, but possible way. I haven’t seen much of the world nor have I read much and so I cannot put into proper words my thoughts about Theresa and Garrett’s relationship.

As the title implies, it was the message in a bottle that acted as the bridge. It was this “fated message”, as Sparks would put it, that led this two people who once loved to love once again. Sparks was not only trying to convey about destiny but also of another message – to let go of the past and embrace what’s presently in front of you. With Garrett’s unchangeable feelings for his dead wife, Catherine, it was hard to love someone else without asking himself, “Would this disappoint Catherine?”. I believe that our dead loved ones continue to look after us from above. What do you think would they be doing in heaven? Slacking in that big sofa with a cup of tea? They lead us to answers to our questions, solutions to our problems, explanations to our doubts, and opens doors for a new beginning. I guess, Garrett didn’t realize this till it was too late – SPOILERS! till it was his turn to look after Theresa.

With this, I came up with a thought. Could it be that some people who are fated for each other do not usually end up on the altar? This is just a book, a world created by Nicholas Sparks but then – is that possible? Putting death out of the way, I remembered a few points on the book.

Garrett had the choice but he chose the wrong one, he ignored his father’s advices, he was scared that Catherine would not permit him to find somebody new. As superficial as this review would seem, but I believe that a person who truly loves you would not deprive you of happiness. In every way that I look at it, it was up to Garrett to let go and he did but too late. Funny how the human mind works but we realize just how precious that person is when that person left us already. It’s this mistakes that unveil us to what was just there, what we chose not to see.

Message In a Bottle is a heartbreaking story that I would encourage everyone to read. You might think that reading some Nicholas Sparks is dangerous for a 14-year-old. I think not. It’s best that I’m knowledgeable about possibilities like this beforehand. It’s best that a book would teach me than experience. That way, I’d save myself from the possible pain.

Drama much but true.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5!

Leave a Reply

