Belching Words

History

Posted in Booking Through Thursdays, Memes by Lex on December 24, 2009

btt button

Given the choice, which do you prefer? Real history? Or historical fiction? (Assume, for the purposes of this discussion that they are equally well-written and engaging.)

I haven’t read any books of these genre (suggestions please?) because sometimes I’d rather pick romance rather than these serious genres. But if I were given the chance, I’d pick the former – Real History. For a person who is still growing up and has more to face in the future, reading something with validated facts is important. Growing up is a process and in that process, reading is one of the helpful variables.

Speaking of History, do you ever wonder why Christmas- which is said to be the birthday of Jesus Christ – is celebrated on December 25 when it was never stated on the Bible? My Dad did not give any explanation and my teacher has never asked us this question too! I wonder why! Anyone who could fill the gaps on my brain for this question?

Nevertheless, I wish you guys a Merry Merry Christmas. I pray that our prayers may be answered that though we don’t live in mansions with professional Chefs, may our tables be full and our lives be blessed as we end this year through the celebration of Christmas.

I am thankful more than anything of what I received. I did not regret nor am I still saddened by past events since, as the name implies, it is past. Nobody hates me and I hate nobody. My family is complete and breathing and my Mom’s job is stable and I’m going on well with my studies. Another year is approaching and I pray that my year as well as yours may be fruitful.

I pray that everyone would still have complete fingers with all the fireworks that are going to be lighted this Midnight and on January 1 here on the Philippines. I pray for lesser crime rates.

And, also, whatever was portrayed on the movie 2012 is never gonna happen. It has hunted me as I lie down in bed though I know it’s never gonna happen.

Before I end this post, I’d like to share some good finds this Thursday:

Bookmark Origami

Do you have unwanted catalogs or pieces of paper that are a waste to throw (how ironic) even in the Recycled Bin? For us, people with a passion for reading, we could use these bits of paper as bookmarks – not just any insert-me-bookmark that could slip off and get lost but page hugging bookmarks. I meant this:

This photo is not mine

Head over to Dolce Bellezza – a very beautiful blog, with this interesting Italian author, neat layouts, beautiful reviews that I just found.

Which do you prefer, Real History or Historical Fiction? Anything interesting this Thursday?

Happy BTT!

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. DelGal's Book Reviews said, on December 24, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    I agree with you, accurate history is important. I read The Autobiography of Santa Claus by Jeff Guinn and they mentioned something about having Dec. 25th as Jesus’ birthday but this book was historical fiction, so what really is the truth?

    • Lex said, on December 24, 2009 at 7:01 pm

      The bible did not say any dates so I still don’t know.. though now I know why Santa is connected to Christmas.

  2. Bellezza said, on December 24, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Here’s the link on the true story of Santa Claus:

    http://www.stnicholascenter.org/Brix?pageID=38

    Blessings!

  3. Bellezza said, on December 24, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Novroz, one more link (as I feel badly taking poor Lex’s space myself ;) about St. Nick can be found here.

    • Lex said, on December 25, 2009 at 6:10 am

      You are very helpful! Thank you! :)

  4. Bellezza said, on December 24, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Lex, I much prefer historical fiction if I had to choose between the two. I’m a fiction girl almost all the way. Thanks for visiting my blog yesterday, it’s so nice to mmet you!

    • Lex said, on December 24, 2009 at 5:25 pm

      Fiction does spell fun so it’s not like I won’t read it!

  5. Kathy R (Bermudaonion) said, on December 24, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    I enjoy real history if it’s done well and it’s readable. Sometimes it’s written so that it’s over my head.

    • Lex said, on December 24, 2009 at 5:23 pm

      Exactly. If it’s written in a way that could penetrate our minds.

  6. Melody said, on December 24, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Merry Christmas! Hope you have a fun and wonderful holiday!

  7. Novroz said, on December 24, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Because I love fiction, I prefer the historical fiction :)

    I always enjoy watching history, in form of movie of documentary.

    I am not a Christian…but I always wonder…what is the relation of Santa with the birth of Jesus?

    Merry Christmas to you :)

    • Bellezza said, on December 24, 2009 at 2:05 pm

      If I may be so bold, I’ll venture my opinion: Santa comes from Saint Nicholas who truly lived, and who gave generously to the poor. Therein lies his connection to Jesus, simply in giving gifts (although in my opinion, Jesus’ gift is holy and singular whereas St. Nick/Santa is just thoughtful and kind).

      • Novroz said, on December 24, 2009 at 2:30 pm

        Thank you bellezza :)

        It goes to another question…since when did Santa appear in Christmas??

        Sorry Lex if I’m using your post for non-BTT matter.

        PS. to Bellezza…finally someone with the same choice as I am :)

      • Lex said, on December 24, 2009 at 5:21 pm

        Oh! A teacher answered! Saint Nicholas. So he gives every year? That really is generous.

        Novroz: It’s okay. I’m enjoying it.


Leave a Reply

