Belching Words

Musing Mondays

Posted in Memes, Musing Mondays by Lex on November 15, 2009

musing mondaysMusing Mondays

With the holiday season now upon us, have you left any hint – subtle or otherwise – for books family and friends might buy you for Christmas? Do you like to receive books, or do you prefer certificates so you can choose your own?

I have already hinted or rather expressed fully what I would want for Christmas from my parents. For me, it’s quite early to ask for your gift because I see Christmas from a very far distance especially right now that Mom is not around and this would be the 4th of the 8 Christmases with my incomplete family. Moving on from that sad part, I have asked my parents for .. cash. I don’t quite comprehend what certificate means in the question, nevertheless, I’m asking for cash and demanding for a big amount. Haha. Naughty child.

14828787First reason is with the money, I’ll be able to choose what book and how many books I’d like to buy. Second, they are not well acquainted with my taste and they’d rather buy crossword puzzles and encyclopedias when I would’ve picked for romance and some Nicholas Sparks (The Last Song, though Miley Cyrus would be starred in the books adaptation. geez). Also, I plan to complete Cecilia Ahern’s novels (If You Could See Me Now or P.S I love you or The Gift or The Book of Tomorrow).

With the remaining change, maybe I could merge my savings and get a necklace .. or a pair of sandals .. or a blouse from Just G .. or grab some forbidden Pringles.TheLastSonghardcover

As for godfathers, I am not a Catholic which means I am not Christened yet and which also means that I have no godfathers so I expect no other gifts aside from my parents. If a relation would be as so good as to wrap a present for me, I should save them the trouble for I’d be asking for cash. Or if they don’t dare to ask, maybe something, anything white. Or maybe Santa could get me a boyfriend (about time..). Or you could buy me a present! A teddy bear would do for a 14 year old I guess?

Anyway, enough with my ranting.

How about you answer the question?

Tagged with: ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. cutlex said, on November 16, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    caite – i don’t understand what’s so impersonal about cash. they run the world! lol :))

    Yvonne – why make an excuse to go to a bookstore dear? I visit the bookstore every time I pass one.

  2. Yvonne said, on November 16, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    I love gift cards. They give me an excuse to browse the book stores :)

  3. caite said, on November 16, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    a gift card removes you from the cash just a step and does not seem quite as impersonal. cash is just so…cash..lol

  4. cutlex said, on November 16, 2009 at 6:26 am

    Bluestocking – Exactly. And don’t forget the liberty :)

    Diane – Aaw. Thank you :) That’s really sweet.

    Melody – Likewise Melody! :)

  5. Melody said, on November 16, 2009 at 5:56 am

    That book by Cecilia Ahern sounds good!

    Hope you get what you want for Christmas! :)

  6. Diane said, on November 16, 2009 at 5:48 am

    Oh, I so want Cecelia’s latest!

    Nothing wrong w/ good ‘ole ca$h, a teddy bear & more ca$h for books!

    I am sorry about your mom. Hugs!

    Here’s mine:

    http://thebookresort.blogspot.com/2009/11/musing-mondays.html

  7. Bluestocking said, on November 16, 2009 at 3:46 am

    Lol! Gift cards are fun. You get the fun of shopping without the guilt of spending your own money.

    Here is mine


Leave a Reply

