Belching Words

Booking Through Thursday [11.12.09]

Posted in Booking Through Thursdays, Memes by Lex on November 12, 2009

booking thru thursday

Booking Through Thursday

Do you read everything all the way through or do you feel life really is too short to read bad books?

Since PH does not have the big libraries as they do in U.S.A, I have to buy the book with my weekly allowance. So I have the check first if the book is worth buying. But in the event that I pick up the book with good summary but bad content, I have to read it all the way, hoping that I’ll find something good. It would be a waste you know! Sayang!

Since it hasn’t not been a year since I started reading and collecting books, I only have a small collection and I haven’t read various genres. Among my books, these are what I cannot stand: The Great Gatsby and Jude Deveraux’s  Secrets.

For the former, I cannot see why it’s still on the bookshelves on bookstores, why some people find it epic, and why it’s called a classic. No offense dear fans of this book. I just find the Brits better.

As for the latter, it was supposed to be a book meant to raise thrill and suspense, but I was not sitting at the edge of my seat while reading Secrets. I wasn’t happy and contented. It was too confusing. It had no flesh. I just imply didn’t like it.

Conclusion: I could put down a book only if I borrowed it or if I bought it cheap. The higher the book’s price is, the harder it would be to put it down.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tracie Yule said, on November 13, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    I never thought about the money aspect of reading a book. I definitely can relate to your point about not putting it down if you’ve spent your hard earned money on it. Sorry to say, I have. Which is probably a whole other issue (how I spend money).

    • cutlex said, on November 13, 2009 at 2:03 pm

      In my case, if you’re depending on your parents, then of course, you need to be frugal.

      I appreciate your feedback. Come back soon!

  2. Marineko said, on November 13, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I flip through books I find interesting, and read dozens of reviews on blogs, before buying most books by authors that are new to me :D

    I didn’t like The Great Gatsby the first time I read it, either, but I have a feeling I might like it if I give it another try one of these day… maybe.

    • cutlex said, on November 13, 2009 at 1:57 pm

      I do the same. Like, I find something first that would persuade me to buy the book. Not just because it’s popular now or it’s a famed classic.

      I don’t think I’m going to read through The Great Gatsby. No inclination to do so.

  3. Marce said, on November 12, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    Meant to say Welcome to BTT :-)

  4. Marce said, on November 12, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    I couldn’t get through 2 I bought this year, ugggh, what a waste BUT it is more of a waste of time forcing myself to read it. It is like paying yourself to get punished.

    My response.
    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2009/11/booking-through-thursday-to-short.html#comments

  5. Priscilla said, on November 12, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    I agree, having spent money on a book makes it more difficult to put down. It’s like seeing a bad date through to the end. Ugh.


Leave a Reply

