Belching Words

Athena Flies Away

Posted in blogs, interests. by Lex on August 7, 2010

x

”  Why is 11:11 the time to make a wish?

I make wishes all the time, 1:47, 8:29, 12:51; midnight, sunrise;

with magic wells, with shooting stars, with birthday candles;

with nothing at all but the closing of eyes and curling of fists.  “

x

”  I don’t want to grow old, please let me keep my little red shoes & wishes for home.

Why did the fairytales have to end?

I would much prefer it if they kept on spinning and spinning in the old film reel;

until the lights flickered and burned out just like time itself.  “

x

”  Confusion, confusion. The clock had broken and time had stopped.

She wondered to herself, secretly, silently, whose heart had she broken?

Oh, oh dear, it was always her own – was that better than breaking everyone else’s?

Of course, of course it was, we know silly questions lead to honest answers.  “

(This are photos from various amazing artists that I feel fit Athena’s words. Be amazed.)

I found Athena and her blog through the comments section. She left a beautiful sweet comment and I randomly clicked on her name only to find pages and pages of beautiful words sprinkled with fairy dusts, praised by fairy godmothers.

I find her blog similar to Lola’s Deerlings&Ghostthings. Her words pierce you in the heart with joy, creating awe and a smile in a face.

I can never write like her or like Lola or like my sister. My writing has always been suited for newspapers while she can talk about childhood and dreams and heart aches so beautifully befitting a goddess’s hands. An Athena indeed.

Thank you Athena for visiting me. Thank you for leading me to some place beautiful.

Why is 11:11 the time to make a wish?
I make wishes all the time, 1:47, 8:29, 12:51; midnight, sunrise;
with magic wells, with shooting stars, with birthday candles;
with nothing at all but the closing of eyes and curling of fists.
Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Athena. said, on August 29, 2010 at 11:52 am

    Oh, dearest,
    you are really far too kind to me!
    And I can honestly say that I love the way you write – I will leave you a longer comment in your newest post, but I want you to know that you are so, so much more amazing than I could ever be.
    Love, Athena. xxx

  2. shoreacres said, on August 22, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    I can never write like her or like Lola or like my sister….

    Of course you can’t! None of us writes like anyone else. Each of us has our own voice, and the task is to discover it.

    There are many elegant writers, beautiful writers, exquisite crafters of words. But no one puts words together just the way I do, or in your particular way. And the readers of the world need us all.

    • Lex said, on August 28, 2010 at 2:55 pm

      I need you and your words in my life Linda. You’re too good to be true. Thank God for making you.

  3. Shannon of ** Happiness Is...** said, on August 17, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    Ahhh, I love this post. Beautiful :) xo

    P.S. I’m giving away a dress on my blog today!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

